A RESOLUTION

Requesting the President to transfer the Project Management Unit for Compact infrastructure projects ("PMU") back to the Department of Transportation, Communications and Infrastructure ("TCI").

- 1 WHEREAS, The PMU was originally created as a unit within
- 2 TC&I; and
- 3 WHEREAS the PMU logically belongs in TC&I, the department in
- 4 charge of infrastructure, and the entire system of congressional
- 5 appropriations and oversight presumes that the PMU belongs
- 6 therein; and
- WHEREAS, the President, without consultation with Congress,
- 8 transferred the PMU administratively and physically to the
- 9 President's Office; and
- 10 WHEREAS, said transfer has caused administrative problems,
- 11 including but limited to the jurisdiction of the Congressional
- 12 Committee on T&C which does not have oversight jurisdiction over
- 13 the President's Office, and therefore cannot maintain adequate
- 14 oversight over the management of Compact infrastructure; and
- WHEREAS, it is the sense of Congress that the PMU's
- 16 operations will be smoother and more coordinated with other
- 17 infrastructure projects of the nation if it is situated within
- 18 TC&I; now, therefore
- 19 BE IT RESOLVED by the Fifteenth Congress of the Federated
- 20 States of Micronesia, Sixth Regular Session, 2009, that the

```
President is urged, to transfer the PMU administratively and
 2
    physically back to TC&I; and
 3
        BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this
   resolution be transmitted to the President of the Federated
 4
 5
   States of Micronesia.
 6
   Date: <u>2/7/09</u>
                           Introduced by: <u>/s/ Moses A. Nelson</u>
                                                   Moses Nelson
8
9
                                            /s/ Joseph J. Urusemal
10
                                                Joseph J. Urusemal
11
12
13
                                            /s/ Setiro Paul
                                                Setiro Paul
14
15
16
                                            /s/ Isaac V. Figir
                                                Isaac V. Figir
17
18
19
                                            /s/ Dohsis Halbert
                                                Dohsis Halbert
20
21
22
23
24
                                             /s/ Peter Sitan
                                                 Peter Sitan
2.5
26
```

2 of 3

1	/s/ Dion G. Neth Dion G. Neth
2	Bion G. Neen
3	
4	
5	/s/ Tesime Kofot Tesime Kofot
6	
7	
8	/s/ Paliknoa K. Welly Paliknoa K. Welly
9	2
10	
11	
12	/s/ Fredrico O. Primo
13	Fredrico O. Primo
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	